My first API Hackathon???

Photo by Mae Mu on Unsplash

My first API Hackathon???

Lyka gets a taste of honey in Hashnode's API Hackathon.

January 23, 2024 - 4:42am - In my room, up late!

I am falling asleep as I write this, but I finally fonud something productivity and ccreativity based to attempt wheenever I get insomnia. I am too lazy to check the misspells, but oh well. This is MY blog after all.

I'm gonna try joining this API hackathon after learning about OO programming concepts last term. Hopefully I can put those classes with Lauren Himbeault to good use. We spoke about interfaces then so this is my chance to apply it to the real world!

4:44am - But now, I need to sleep. I'll work on this every insomnia night from now on and document my journey on this article.

Thanks for tuning in!

- Lyka


January 26, 2024 - 3:47am = In my room, up too early! - One of These Ngihts by Red Velvet.

Good morning! It's another day of hackathon making. I'm going to through threw the starteer kit and go from. Misspells are back because my fingers are slower than my branin.

To get started, we can start on this GitHub repo that give you the steps.


January 30, 2024 - 4:08am = In my room again. Too early haha! - (not) a love song by Liang Lawrence

I'm currently stuck because I don't think i set up Vercel right. I'm gonna start at the very top again. GETTING STARTED ON so many platforms is so tough! First time doing Vercel, I've done Neo4J before but GraphQL is scary as well!!! HOW DO YOU DO THIS?!!??!??

Thank goodness there's ways to partcipate as listed here:

I got the rest of the 3 in terms of writing down. I just need to build something interesting which I'm trying to figure out right now!

7:53am – Still in my room – Finally asked questions on Discord

After procrastinating and finally remembering what I'm supposed to do, I ended up asking questions on the Discord server! Favourite Jome helped me out with my noobiest question this hackathon so far!

I was once again overwhelmed by navigating GitHub and Vercel, when finally Favourite Jome suggested the following:

So next plan of action is to watch the following video:

I know I have like 3 more days, but we'll see what happens! Hopefully I get something working!


February 4, 2024 - 7:56pm - Subside by Eloise

So! I ended up not working on it. However, in the last few days, I met Brandon Powell on Creative Christian Hangout Discord, whom I spoke to about regarding the hackathon. We were going to collaborate on an eCommerce starter theme for churches, but due to my busy schedule, we mainly ideated on what we could do.

January 31st - We met and brainstormed some stuff asynchronously. We set up shop on Vercel and created Builder.io collaboration page.

February 1st - We prayed for God's vision for the project.

February 2nd - We realized we needed to find out the MVP because we had so many good ideas for the project. It was the last day until the hackathon deadline.

February 3rd - We prayed for God's vision for the project, and met up and discussed various ways we can approach the project. We explored scope creep and hashed out what we're supposed to do.

So yeah! I ended up with no working MVP, but I ended up with a good friend and collaborator in Brandon Powell and we're planning to take this further than the scope of this Hackathon!

Thank you Favourite Jome and Brandon Powell for your help and for guiding me in my first API Hackathon! I didn't really touch the API at all but I did look through documents hahaha!