Hello world! I am learning, yearning, knowing, and…

Hello world! I am learning, yearning, knowing, and…

(wait…almost there…)

…introducing myself! My name is Lyka Sal-long, sometimes Lyka Mabanta Sal-long, sometimes Lyka Sallong, DJ 7YK4, Kiks, lots of many names. But for Hashnode purposes, my name is Lyka Sal-long.

I’ve been lurking around here for a while, trying to figure out what my first post should be, whether or not I’m developer enough to post here. Overall, I just wanted an alternative to Tumblr because I was so into Tumblr from 2009 to 2019-ish since I loved documenting things in my life and reblogging posts that resonated with me. But after a while of contemplating, here I am!

Technical-linguistically, I wear certain hats like Java, C, C++, SQL, almost JavaScript and Python. I haven’t passed my object orientation class at university just yet hahahaha. So YEAH! Dynamic languages? I need to learn how to flaunt somehow. HTML and CSS I did not know I was playing with when I used to make MySpace layouts with my sister back in the day when I was still a single digit aged person who had no business of being on such a social media platform but my sister and brother were on it so yeah. I wanted to be a cool kid. Disguised as Skuld from Ah! My Goddess. On MySpace. Hahaha.

Extracurricularly, I wear a VP Internal hat, a Director of Speakers hat, drum circle contributor hat, and many more. Job-wise, web assistant and a private music teacher.

Yes. I might as well have the number of heads as a Hydra but alas, I have only one brain holding limb. Unless there are other brains and gut feelings I don’t know are sourced from the other limbs?

I am a multitasker, aspiring multi potentialité. I usually hang out on Twitter and respond to Lolo Grady Booch sometimes or podcast folks like Eddie Hinkle or authors like Alex Karp.

Overall, I realized I like community and learning from everybody somehow. Like my friend and teammate role model, Mia, once said in a workshop: “The smartest in the room is the room.” Or the people in the room. Or the elephant if you don’t have people there. Something like that.

To conclude this Hashnode post: If you see a lonely node, bring them to your cluster. (Re: Early bird club reflections from CUSEC 2023, Sal-long)

Nice to meet you all!

Lyka Mabanta Sal-long