Lyka Sallong Musical Biography

Lyka Sallong Musical Biography

The least "developer" biography of Lyka on this blog. I end with the best sorting algorithm in terms of musicality.

(Well where do I start? Do I write this as an autobiography or as a biography? Let's write in third-person okay fine.)

Introduction

Lyka Sallong is a multi-instrumental artist from Winnipeg, Manitoba. Born in Baguio City, Benguet, CAR in 1996, this 27-year-old musician has garnered various experiences that speak to those of Filipino-Canadian roots, after living in Baguio City for 13 years and living in Winnipeg for the next 13. Her musicality and creativity as part of the Filipino diaspora expresses themes of identity, spirituality, and vision.

Growing up

Lyka was born in a musical household where she learned how to sing and play guitar from her mother, Maribel, and father, Lorenzo, and eventually from her older sister, Lori, and older brother, Loui.

Musical Taste

Lyka listened to music through her mother's walkman in the womb, according to her mother. These include BJ Thomas and Maranatha! tapes.

Lyka grew up in the Philippines, where she listened to a lot of OPM with her brother and sister. Kitchie Nadal, Rivermaya, Parokya ni Edgar, Up Dharma Down, Itchyworms and all the works. Her go-to Filipino karaoke songs is Beer by Itchyworms (even though I don't drink alcohol) and Up Dharma Down's Oo.

While touring Baguio City with her family to find prayer partners before they leave for missions in Asia as an 8-year-old, little Lyka sang the pappaparappappap's with her Kuya Loui as Mom played the guitar and Ate Lori sang the lead to God So Loved by Jaci Velasquez. Her Dad would then share our testimony to what ended up being 1000 prayer partners after the tour.

Lyka remembers listening to a lot of Gospel and Christian music growing up. Her favourite Gospel singer as a kid is Ron Kenoly.

She also listened to a lot of Selah, BarlowGirl, and most importantly TobyMac. TobyMac's Diverse City was monumental in Lyka's exploration of her musical tastes. (Like do you know how much I glory in the fact that Mr. Talkbox got to feature on Bruno Mars's song after how many years of listening to him on Toby's records?!?!?) Her first CD was TobyMac's Portable Sounds. Her first concert was TobyMac's when he came to Winnipeg with Jamie Grace in October 2011.

As a missionary kid in Asia, Lyka had a lot of freedom to explore multi-lingual music. This led her to listening to a lot of J-pop, C-pop, and eventually K-pop. The following songs are her top 3 from each genre.

Lyka then spent a good chunk of her high school days (2010-2014) into university (2014 until now!) listening to K-pop though. (Legit I could be a K-pop historian hahahahaha)

Guitar

She first learned her first bass line, Smoke on the Water, from her sister at the age of 7. She learned her first chords, (D, A, Em) and full song (Matt Redman's The Heart of Worship) from her mother at the age of 8. After watching her Dad teach Stairway to Heaven to her brother and her brother fully learning it from ultimate-guitar, Lyka explored how to play guitar tabs at age 9 and learned TobyMac's Irene intro which she never bothered to fully learn because she's satisfied where she's at right now.

While tryna keep up with her peers at school listening to YouTubers and Tumblr musicians, Lyka learned her first maj7 shapes and min7 shape through AJ Rafael and Jesse Barrera's She Was Mine.

Through this knowledge, Lyka was able to figure out a simple version of Tim Atlas's and JENI's cover of Love on Top:

(Legit I still can't play it with my guitar because my guitar is too high action for that shishkeballs of chord shapes.)

(Idk something something I love guitar it's my go-to instrument any day let's go. I'm always learning and I'm too lazy to write down what I've learned on it. Please don't tell that to my piano and inexistent drumset that I own.)

Piano

Learned from the one and only Ate Genevieve Tong-Abance back in 2008-2009. Ever since, I've been self-taught. I played at church from 2009-2024 so umm.... I am great at piano chords.

Drums

Learned from watching the one and only Ate Genevieve Tong-Abance back in 2008-2009 how to play Cry of My Heart (first and only Christian Reggae song I've played at church on the drums).

One day, in 2010, we didn't have a drummer, so I ended up stepping in and just playing Cry of My Heart that day. I felt so awesome. I then learned from Mrs. Janet Pledger that whole summer how to read basic notes in drums and percussion, expecting myself to get into band in high school. But the vice principal in charge said nope you did not do Grade 6,7,8 band so nope. I only found out later on in life that I could've just spoken to the band teachers and could've become a band kid. Merp.

Voice

First was in choir at OV Jewitt through Ms. Wiebe! We sang Heal the World and Viva La Vida :)

In high school, Maples Collegiate, under Dorothy Dyck's tutelage from 2010-2014, Philip Lapatha's from 2011-2014, Ms. Potosky and Ms. Matheson in 2010-2011 and 2011-2012 respectively. I was in Concert Choir my whole time there, did Chamber Choir from Grade 10-12, and BOY OH BOY Vocal Jazz from Grade 10-12, Baby Sugar, the 2 years of Maplesugar.

I don't remember much or I just can't get myself to say much. Still processing whatever happened in choir at that time. Great time, but too foggy for my brain too remember.

Bass Guitar

I bought my first 5-string bass like two years ago? My silly self bought the aesthetic for it but it's so darn too high action and heavy I need to trade it in at some point!

Conclusion

Lyka wouldn't exist without the love of the Creator, of Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit in one Godhead leading her musical journey. Lyka thanks you for sharing your time to listen to hers. Obviously I gave up and this turned into an autobiography but here we are! I hope to explore my musical journey more and more :)!

If there's anything for developers here to learn, it's that diversifying your knowledge base apart from coding is so important and opens so many possibilities of exploring computer architecture and design overall. I leave you with this: