Where the equation of love involves proximity to you

It's five days after Valentine's Day. The day before that, I spent my day hosting an event that celebrates love in all its forms. Eros, agape, puppy, wistful, distant.

I spent Valentine's Day alone. Well, I started it with an appointment with my Doctor. Well, love has to start with a healthy me, you know?

But throughout this week, I got closer to you somehow. I remember admiring you asking questions in class. You seemed like the smartest one in the room, but you were asking the most basic questions. Next thing I know, my unabashed self was talking to you, trying to get you to invest in my friend's art. Maybe it was a step in trying to get you to invest in my heart. (I cringe and laugh to myself as I write this).

I fall in love, time and time again. It's getting old and messin' up my head.

Why do I feel so drawn to you when all we've talked about are things that concern everyone's lives? Life after graduation. Income. Attending events we both organized.

Then I realize, it's my quiet mind when I'm with you.

You tapped me on the shoulder. I grabbed your hand. Dance.

I've spoken countless eloquent expressions, equations of love with numerous people. And yet I'm drawn to you when anything that pertains to love or affection hasn't been expressed between us.

Let R be the universe where I'm with you. Reality. If love's amplitude is amplified by my proximity to you, then I look forward to the laws of motion and the laws of attraction bringing us together. Ordained by some orchestrator of our musical tastes. Curated by the artist of our painting. Continuously written by the author of our story.

Therefore, I think I like you.